A suspected letter from a scammer to Software Critics

April 29, 2009 | By | 1 Reply More

Reading time: 4 – 6 minutes

In relation to my post “Beware of Swine Flu Domain Names“, I have mentioned that F-secure has compiled a list of these newly registered “swine flu” domains which include noswineflu.com which happens to be mentioned as well in news websites and other blogs.

I’ve also mentioned that,

“Black Hat SEO practices could be used behind unhealthy means of getting on top of search engine results as well as taking advantage of people and the current situation by selling fake drugs and all other sorts of evil cyber tactics” which can also be a possibility.

The post only mentioned noswineflu.com as a website which happens to sell a PDF file (an ebook) entitled “Swine Flu Survival Guide” for $19.95.

It has never said nor accused that the website sells fake drugs and is a black hat SEO. It only states the presence of lurking opportunists taking advantage of the Swine Flue scare.

In fact, I’ve listed the websites and blogs that have mentioned noswineflu.com in their articles.


Internet Scammers Ride Swine Flu’s Coattails…Another directs you to a Web site, noswineflu.com, which offers to sell you a “Swine Flu Survival Guide” for $19.95 — credit cards and PayPal accepted.

F-Secure has screenshots of the webpage of noswineflu.com.


Cybercriminals exploit swine flu fears with spam emails…Researchers at the security software maker F-Secure warned that one site, noswineflu.com, tries to con readers into buying a PDF called “Swine Flu Survival Guide” for $19.95.

The Washington Post

Scammers, Spammers Embrace Swine Flu News…F-Secure on its blog notes that at least one of the sites – noswineflu.com – tries to spoof readers into purchasing a PDF called “Swine Flu Survival Guide” for $19.95.


Internet Scammers Taking Advantage Of Swine Flu Fears…Another email directs you to a web site, www.noswineflu.com, which offers to sell you a “Swine Flu Survival Guide” for $19.95. Please be warned that this is a scam and you will not get any type of guide. All you are doing is supporting the scammers.

The suspected letter sent to Software Critics is over the top and rather derogatory to this blog. See attached letter below:

A suspected letter from noswineflu dot com to Software Critics

A suspected letter from noswineflu dot com to Software Critics

If this is a genuine letter, then, I would like to hear the side of the website owner about this issue. I would even volunteer myself to be the instrument to tell everyone that the site noswineflu.com is legitimate when proven.

Again, Software Critics firmly believes that every consumer has the right to a free, accessible, and accurate information. And that no one should be deceived and manipulated with false advertisements and unproven claims.

Software Critics advocates truth and justice and holds accountable to its readers.

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: security-privacy, websites

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

Sites That Link to this Post

  1. Software Critics Turns One: Blogging Milestones | Software Critics | September 18, 2014

Leave a Reply